Lacy Round Ripple Blanket

First of all, let me just say how much I love self-striping yarn.  It’s so pretty and takes the work out of weaving in all the ends.  It’s kinda lame that the best self-striping yarns all seem to be available in the UK and not in the US.  Yes, I know you can pay to have them shipped here, but the shipping literally costs more than the yarn itself and I just can’t bring myself to pay for it.  I’m in love with the Ice Yarns Magic Light yarn.  One of these days I’m going to splurge, just not today.

I follow Loobys Loops on Facebook.  She always has the best color combinations and designs.  Recently she posted her version of the Lacy Round Ripple Blanket using a self-striping yarn and I was hooked….literally.

I set out to find a yarn that would be comparable.  It wasn’t an easy task.  Of course it doesn’t help that the only craft store I have close is a Joann’s Fabrics and it’s not a full store, just a small version of what the larger stores are.  I did come across something I thought might work though and so far I have to say I’m loving it.  I found Lion Brand Baby Soft in Circus Print.

I’ve just finished the first of the three balls of yarn I bought and I really like the effect it’s making.  I wish the lengths of color were longer, but it’s still making a nice effect.

IMG_5901

IMG_5903

So, one ball done and it’s measuring 24 inches from point to point.

I’ve never made a circular blanket before but I kinda like it!

Oh, one last thing.  I attempted this patter first just by reading the pattern, which I’m pretty good at and I struggled.  This is not a pattern for beginners at all.  I was lucky to find a youtube video showing how to get started.  Once you get the hang of it this blanket works up really easily.  Here’s a link to the video!

Happy hooking!

3 thoughts on “Lacy Round Ripple Blanket

    • Yes, she is in the process of moving both her business and into a new home so she has temporarily disabled her Facebook page. I saw posts of her office move recently so I’m guessing she’ll be back soon!

      Like

Leave a comment