Sophie’s Universe

Wow!  I guess I’ve been so busy crocheting secret surprises that I haven’t been posting anything to my blog lately.  Trust me, I’m still busy with my hook and yarn…lots of lovely yarn 🙂

Here’s my most recent HUGE finish!  So proud of this as it’s been the largest and most challenging thing I’ve completed to date.  The bad part is that it makes “easy” projects just no fun to do.

Here she is, Sophie!

IMG_6974  IMG_6943

She was a 20 week labor of love created in Red Heart Super Saver in the color Aran.  It took approximately 15 skeins of yarn to complete (or 5460 yards).

This was a gift for a good friend of mine who came all the way from Kentucky to pick it up.  I think she was at least a little surprised!

IMG_7185

Here’s a link to the Ravelry page with tons of projects for color ideas here.  And the link to Dedri Ury’s page Look At What I Made.  She designed Sophie’s Universe and graciously made an extensive pattern including detailed photos that made this project good even for beginners.  I learned a ton doing this project and feel much more advanced in my skills due to completing this.

15 thoughts on “Sophie’s Universe

  1. I kept seeing this as multicolored, but this is the first I’ve seen it in a solid color. It looks lovely! I would be ecstatic to receive this since I know how much work goes into it. Nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m usually all about color but I had to take my friend’s preferences into consideration. I never would have guessed I would love it so much in one color but I do think it makes it look very vintage and expensive. Some day I’ll get around to making one just like it for my own bed!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just been given a vast amount (like 30 balls) of wool in the same blue colour and this has given me a perfect idea of what to do with it! I love how the simple colour makes the textures the main focus. Well done you!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Can’t believe how anyone can do this job!! It’s so beautiful and well done and especially in this bright colour, which as you say makes it quite vintage. I believe you learned a lot;-) congratulations. I would nwver give it away 😉

    Like

  4. Could you please tell me what size hook you used – I’m new to crochet (8 weeks ago) and loving it. I would love to attempt something like this and I particularly love your quilt – all in the same colour, it is stunning. Thanks KW.

    Like

Leave a Reply

