My first pattern ever!

I’m super excited!  I just wrote my first pattern ever!  I’m not thoroughly versed in writing in “crochet” but I think I get the point across enough to get the job done, plus I added pictures to help along the way.  I hope you enjoy my festive “Be My Valentine” square!

In case you’d like to find this pattern on Revelry, you can click this link and it’ll take you directly there!  Please post photos of your squares and finished projects, I’d love to see them all.

“Be My Valentine” Square

I used worsted weight yarn and a 5.00mm hook. The square ended up being about 7”x7”. I’m thinking a 6.00mm hook would create a square approximately 8” around.

Round 1: Create a magic ring. 12dc into the ring. Join with a sl st to beginning dc. (I used a standing double crochet but you can start your first double crochet with a ch3).

IMG_6347

Round 2: ch3 (counts as first dc, or use a standing dc) dc in same stitch, dc in next, 2dc in next, *ch2, 2dc, dc, 2dc* 3 times. Ch 2 join with a sl st in first dc.

IMG_6348

Round 3: Ch3 (or standing dc), dc in same stitch, dc in next 3, 2dc in next, *ch2, skip chains and 2dc in next dc stitch, dc in next 3, 2dc* 3 times. Ch2 and join with a sl st to first dc.

IMG_6349

Round 4: Ch3, dc in same stitch, dc in next 2, 2dc, dc in next 2, 2dc, *ch2, skip chains and 2dc in next dc stitch, dc in next 2, 2dc, dc in next 2, 2dc* 3 times. Ch2 and join with a sl st to first dc.

IMG_6350

Round 5: Skip first 2 dc, 8dc in third dc, sc between the next 2dc group (see photo for placement), skip 2dc, 8dc in next, *3sc in the ch2, skip 2 dc, 8dc in next, sc between next 2dc group, skip 2 dc, 8dc in next* 3 times. Join with slip stitch in beginning dc. Fasten off and switch to border color.

IMG_6352 IMG_6353

Round 6: Attach border color to any 3sc group, using the first sc of the group. Ch2 (counts as first hdc), hdc into next 4, sc in next 2, hdc, *sk 3, (4tr, ch3, 4tr) into center dip of top of heart, sk 3, hdc, sc in next 2, hdc in next 7, sc in next 2* 3 times, hdc in last 2. Join with a sl st into beg ch2.

 IMG_6355

Round 7: Ch1 sc in same space, sc around with (2sc ch2 2sc) in each ch3 corner. Sl st join to beg sc. Fasten off and weave in loose ends. You should have 25 sc on each side of the square (100 sc and 8ch).

 IMG_6357

I had to steam block my square to get it to flatten out. I didn’t use the nicest yarn (it was pretty stiff acrylic). Once I  steamed it, it softened up quite a bit and was nice and flat. I think going to a 6.00mm hook would help it lay flat also.

2 thoughts on “My first pattern ever!

Leave a Reply

